The Active Network
ActiveWin Anonymous | Create a User | Reviews | News | Forums | Advertise | VBA in Excel | Users Online: 0  
 

neowin.net

Amazon.com

  *  

  Fake Microsoft update site traced to Australia
Time: 04:30 EST/09:30 GMT | News Source: | Posted By: Alex Harris

A mass email being circulated by hackers purporting to be a Microsoft Windows update alert directs computer users to a fake website where a Trojan virus is installed, security experts have said. The security firm Websense said it began receiving reports this week of the email claiming to be from Microsoft, coincidentally after the software giant announced it was making security updates.

"This email spoofs users into thinking that they must update their Windows software," Websense said. "Upon clicking on the link, users are forwarded to a fraudulent website. This website is hosted in Australia, and was up at the time of this alert. The website appears very similar to the real Windows Update site." When a user attempts to perform the update, a Trojan horse virus is installed that allows hackers access to the infected computers, the company said.

Read Only Comments
Return to News
  Displaying 0 comments
  This is an archived static copy of ActiveWin.com.

Be the first to write a comment on this story!




 

  *  
  *   *
 
replica watches