The Active Network

ActiveDVD ActiveNetwork | Reviews | News | Forums | Advertise  

  *  

ActiveDVD

[ DVD-ROM Tips | DVD Articles | Drivers | News Archive | Contact | DVD Reviews | DVD Links | Forums ]

News Date: Thursday 30th September 1999
Today's Top Headlines:

 

News Date: Wednesday 29th September 1999
Today's Top Headlines:
  • Blockbuster Rolls out DVD in 3,800 US stores
    Time: 10:48 EDT/15:48 GMT Source: The DVD Resource Posted By: Dave C

    Blockbuster is finally coming to the table with a nationwide rollout of DVD in 3,800 of their U.S. corporate stores and a thousand of their international stores. By the end of the year, these stores should have at least 200 DVD titles in stock, with new titles arriving every month.

  • Wizard of Oz 60th Anniversary Edition Features
    Time: 10:48 EDT/15:48 GMT Source: The DVD Resource Posted By: Dave C

    The formal annoucement was made yesterday as to the features that will be included on the Wizard of Oz coming to DVD on October 19th. on DVD:

    • Restored feature with a new Dolby Digital 5.1 surround soundtrack and the original theatrical mono soundtrack.
    • A documentary hosted by Angela Lansbury
    • Interviews with stars Margaret Hamilton, Ray Bolger, and Jack Haley
    • Additional unseen trailers and outtakes from the original recording sessions with the entire cast, including Buddy Ebson as the original Tin Man
    • Excerpts from previous versions of 'Oz': the 1914 and 1925 silent films and the 1933 cartoon version
    • Portrait gallery and special effects stills
    • Original sketches and storyboards, costume design and make-up screen tests
    • Stills from the Hollywood premiere
    • The making of the then state-of-the-art tornado
News Date: Tuesday 28th September 1999
Today's Top Headlines:
  • Official word on The Matrix Problems
    Time: 06:35 EDT/11:35 GMT Source: The DVD Resource Posted By: Dave C

    Two pages have been set up on the PC Friendly home page that give details and information about the problems that some people are having while playing The Matrix on certain DVD players. This page is for DVD-ROM support and this page is for DVD player support. The official word is that the problems relate to the hardware being used and not the actual DVD itself.

  • Screenshots from A Bug's Life: CE
    Time: 06:35 EDT/11:35 GMT Source: The Digital Bits Posted By: Dave C

    Bill Hunt has posted some screenshots from this Collector's Edition DVD that is due out on 11/22/99. In all honesty, those menus look superb. That's exactly how they should have been done the first time that the movie was released on DVD.
News Date: Friday 24th September 1999
Today's Top Headlines:
  • ActiveDVD Review: High School High
    Time: 21:00 EDT/02:00 GMT Source: ActiveDVD Posted By: Dave C

    I've chosen High School High as the review of the day and I must say that while this title shines on VHS, it illuminates on DVD. Jon Lovitz fans unite! as this is easily his funniest film.


  • The Special Effects of The Prince of Egypt
    Time: 09:45 EDT/14:45 GMT Source: DVD File Posted By: Dave C

    Bill Hunt over at The Digital Bits has posted an article going into details about the CGI involved with making the film. It certainly makes for a good read and is highly recommended.
News Date: Thursday 23rd September 1999
Today's Top Headlines:

Do You Have Any DVD News? Just e-mail Us!

 

 

 

 

Copyright 1997-2001 Active Network, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Terms of Use. Privacy Policy.
Forum Software Copyright 2000-2001 William D. Sossamon. Layout by Byron Hinson. Content written by the Active Network team.

 

  *  
  *   *